OUR TEAM

Martine Georges-Naim

Consultant

Practises : Electronic Communications, Regulation, Network Economics

Bars of : Paris from 1997

Professional languages : French English

Capabilities : Regulatory and competitive issues, in consulting and litigation, market analysis, opening to competition.

Martine Georges-Naïm has many years of experience in the regulation and regulation of electronic communications: in business, in administration and as a lawyer, she has acquired an in-depth knowledge of this sector.

First in charge of a mission to the High Authority of Audiovisual Communication, then to the Legal Delegation of France Telecom, from 1987 to 1989, she then held the position of Head of the Legal Mission of the General Directorate of Posts and Telecommunications. (Ministry of P & T) to 1996. It participated in the 1990 and 1996 reforms on the regulation of telecommunications in France and the status of France Telecom and the development of the regulatory framework.

It then assisted numerous operators in the development of their activities and advised them on all regulatory and competitive issues during licensing selection procedures (for example: the Suez-Telefonica consortium for obtaining a UMTS license), or during dispute resolution (for example: TDF for its access offers on digital broadcasting sites, the ultramarine operator Mobius for access to the Reunion Digital network, public service delegate). She has represented several operators in litigation before the competition authorities, the judicial and administrative courts. She has also been responsible for studies on the deployment of public initiative networks, the role of local authorities and the various contractual schemes for setting up and operating high and very high speed networks.

She has experience of relations with the administrative authorities, specifically the independent administrative authorities of regulation.

She advises several regulatory authorities in Africa on the regulatory framework and the analysis of the communications markets.

Before joining Ginestié, Martine Georges-Naïm worked at Moquet Borde & Associés, Pardieu Brocas Maffei & Leygonie and Bersay & Associés.

TRAINING

Graduate of the Institute of Political Sciences of Paris - Public Service Section. Holds advanced degrees in Public Law and Social Law

Publications

The law of 29 December 1990 - prospects for telecommunications. The French Documentation, 1992.

Chapter France of Global Telecommunications Law and Practice, from 2007, ThomsonReuters.

Other professional activities and distinctions

Martine Georges-Naïm is Knight of the National Order of Merit.

She is an advisor to the Mediator of Electronic Communications since 2017.

She was a lecturer at the National School of Telecommunications (ENST) and IEP Paris, member of the Advisory Committee on Electronic Communications Networks and Services, member of the editorial board of the journal "Communications & Strategies" ".

Martine is recognized as a leading expert in information technology and regulation by: Chambers, Decision Makers, Legal 500 and Who's Who Legal.

Best Lawyer 2021

Regulatory Practice: Martine Georges-Naim

Print

WHO'S WHO LEGAL

Recommended: Global leader: Data-Telecoms & 2019 Media

Recommended: National leader: France-Data

L'ÉQUIPE

Martine Georges-Naïm

Consultant

Expertises : Communications électroniques, Régulation, Economie des réseaux

Barreaux de : Paris depuis 1997

Langues professionnelles : Français, Anglais

Principaux domaines d’intervention : Problématiques règlementaires et concurrentielles, en conseil comme en contentieux, analyses de marchés, ouverture à la concurrence.

Martine Georges-Naïm a de longues années d’expérience de la régulation et de la réglementation des communications électroniques : en entreprise, dans l’administration et en qualité d’avocat, elle a acquis une connaissance en profondeur de ce secteur.

D’abord chargée de mission auprès de la Haute Autorité de la communication audiovisuelle, puis à la Délégation juridique de France Télécom, de 1987 à 1989 , elle a ensuite assuré les fonctions de chef de la mission juridique de la Direction Générale des Postes et Télécommunications (Ministère des P & T) jusqu’en 1996. Elle a ainsi participé aux réformes de 1990 et 1996 sur la réglementation des télécommunications en France et le statut de France Télécom et à l’élaboration du cadre règlementaire.

Elle a ensuite assisté de nombreux opérateurs pour le développement de leurs activités et les a conseillés sur l’ensemble des problématiques règlementaires et concurrentielles, lors de procédures de sélection en vue de l’attribution de licences ( par exemple : le consortium Suez-Telefonica pour l’obtention d’une licence UMTS), ou lors de règlements de différends (par exemple : TDF pour ses offres d’accès sur les sites de diffusion numérique, l’opérateur ultramarin Mobius pour l’accès au réseau de La Réunion Numérique, délégataire de service public). Elle a représenté plusieurs opérateurs lors de contentieux devant les autorités de concurrence, les juridictions judicaires et administratives. Elle a également été chargée d’études sur le déploiement des réseaux d’initiative publique, le rôle des collectivités locales et les différents schémas contractuels d’établissement et d’exploitation des réseaux haut et très haut débit.

Elle a l’expérience des relations avec les autorités administratives, spécifiquement les autorités administratives indépendantes de régulation.

Elle conseille plusieurs autorités de régulation en Afrique sur le cadre réglementaire et l’analyse des marchés de communications.

Avant de rejoindre Ginestié, Martine Georges-Naïm a exercé au sein des cabinets Moquet Borde & Associés, de Pardieu Brocas Maffei & Leygonie et Bersay & Associés.

FORMATION

Diplômée de l'Institut des Sciences politiques de Paris - Section service public. Titulaire de diplômes d'études approfondies en droit public et en droit social

Publications

La loi du 29 décembre 1990 - perspectives pour les télécommunications. La Documentation française,1992.

Chapitre France du « Global Telecommunications Law and Practice », depuis 2007, ThomsonReuters.

Autres activités professionnelles et distinctions

Martine Georges-Naïm est Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite.

Elle est conseiller auprès du Médiateur des Communications Electroniques depuis 2017.

Elle a été chargée d’enseignement à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications (ENST) et à l’IEP Paris, membre de la Commission consultative des réseaux et services de communications électroniques, membre du comité de rédaction de la revue « Communications & Stratégies ».

Martine est référencée comme expert de premier plan en technologies de l’information et en régulation par : Chambers, Décideurs, Legal 500 et Who’s Who Legal.